Dyeing vs Painting Shoes

For those that read sewing blogs you might have seen this post.

I made the mistake of trying to dye a pair bright yellow Nine West shoes green. Unfortunately, I didn’t realize that the dye wouldn’t take because the leather was painted. To save the shoes, I bought a gray shoe spray paint.

image

Here’s a picture of the disaster I made with dye:

image

And, here’s after one coat:

image

And, done:

image

Looks great, right?

I’m pretty happy. It’s pretty difficult to find shoes this color gray difficult too. So, I’m glad to have a can of paint on store.

Leave a Reply

